May 24, 2016

Advanced Search
Search Sponsored

History of the Daily Record
Kids' Corner
Local news
Local sports
Advertising Opportunities
Link Directory
About Us
Contact us
home : local news : local news

12/5/2013 2:31:00 PM Email this articlePrint this article 
LCMH honors local resident with Forward Look Award
SUMNER - Retiring  Lawrence County Memorial Hospital Chief Financial Officer Jerry Klein was the recipient was the 2013 Forward Look Award.

The Forward Look Award is given annually "in recognition of valuable community service toward the betterment of community health."

The award has been presented to a community member almost annually since 1963. Klein received the honor Wednesday night at the hospital board's December dinner meeting at Red Hill State Park's Trace Inn restaurant.

Klein is retiring at the end of the year after serving as the hospital's CFO for more than seven years. His plans are for he and his wife to spend more time with their three daughters and six grandsons.

"I was surprised and pleased. It's been a wonderful seven plus years here at the hospital," Klein said. "We have a great hospital and a great organization and this community really needs to come out and support it like it has in the past."

LCMH Chief Financial Officer Doug Florkowski praised Klein for his contributions to the hospital and healthcare.

"He is a great and tremendous CFO, but he's a much, much better person," Florkowski said. "He gives his heart and sole to LCMH and the community. Not just with the hospital, but he's been involved with civic organizations and Rotary in particular. The motto is service above self and Jerry embodies it in the truest sense of the word, not only in his personal life but his profession life as well. 

"We were very fortunate to have him working for us for seven years and we can't thank him enough for his efforts and his legacy that he leaves behind."

In addition to his passion for LCMH, Klein serves on various committees and advisory groups for the Illinois Critical Access Hospital Network.

Florkowski said he has learned a lot from Klein over the years.

"I know he's always going to do the right things for the right reasons and for the good of the hospital. That says a lot. He is selfless in all sense of the word and that's probably an understatement. He's super passionate about LCMH."

Local physician Tom Kirkwood was the first Forward Look Award recipient. Prior to this year, the past five winners have been: Georgia Christian in 2008, Dr. S. R. Chakravarthy in 2009, Dr. Gary Carr in 2010, Susan Gher in 2011 and Gerald Harper in 2012.


 Kid Safe Search

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved