Friday,
April 29, 2016
Search


Advanced Search
Search Sponsored


History of the Daily Record
Kids' Corner
Local news
Local sports
Obituaries
Advertising Opportunities
Calendar
Menus
Dotphoto
Link Directory
Announcements
About Us
Contact us
Home
Feedback
home : local news : local news

12/24/2013 1:14:00 PM Email this articlePrint this article 
New Illinois traffic laws: Speed limit and cell phone ban to be enforced
EFFINGHAM - Illinois State Police officials have issued traffic safety reminders regarding the new 2014 traffic laws that become effective on Jan. 1, and will most likely have an impact on motorists driving throughout Illinois.

Public Act 98-0511 which amended the Illinois Vehicle Code, 625 ILCS 5/11-601 changes the existing legal speed limit from 65 mph to 70 mph on all rural interstates. The Act also allows eight counties - Cook, DuPage, Kane, Will, McHenry, Lake, Madison and St. Clair - with heavily congested highways to opt out and maintain the current 55 mph speed limit.

In addition to the rural interstates, speed laws have been strengthened on all streets, highways, and roads throughout Illinois. Speeding 26 mph over the posted limit is now a Class B misdemeanor and speeding 35 mph or more over the posted limit is a Class A misdemeanor.

Public Act 98-0506 bans the use of hand-held cell phone devices behind the wheel. Bluetooth headsets, earpieces, and voice activated commands are permitted. The only exemptions from this law apply to law enforcement officers or first responders; drivers reporting emergencies and drivers using electronic devices while parked on the shoulder of a roadway.

Motorists who violate this Section shall be fined a maximum of $75 for a first offense, $100 for a second offense, $125 for a third offense, and $150 for a fourth or subsequent offense.

Penalties for distracted drivers who injure others or cause fatal crashes by the use of a cell phone would face a Class A misdemeanor, which could result in fines up to $2,500 and less than a year of jail time.

Drivers involved in fatal accidents could be charged with a Class 4 felony, which carries fines up to $25,000 and up to three years of jail time. 





WXPort

 Kid Safe Search
Google








Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved