May 25, 2016

Advanced Search
Search Sponsored

History of the Daily Record
Kids' Corner
Local news
Local sports
Advertising Opportunities
Link Directory
About Us
Contact us
home : local news : local news

2/18/2014 2:38:00 PM Email this articlePrint this article 
Illinois General Primary election a month away
LAWRENCEVILLE - Lawrence County voters who choose to participate in the General Primary election will be choosing candidates to put on the November ballot at the county, state and federal level, as well a precinct committeemen.

There is also a non-partison ballot for voters in Bridgeport, St. Francisville, Sumner and rural areas of Lawrence County.

The primary election is March 18, one month from today.

Lawrence County voters will put candidates for sheriff, treasurer and county clerk on the ballot as well as county board members from district's 3, 4 and 7.

One of only two local races appear on the Republican ballot for sheriff where Mike Mefford , of rural Lawrenceville, and Dennis J. Bridwell, of Sumner, are candidates.

Incumbent sheriff Russell L. Adams is running unopposed on the Democrat side.

For treasurer, incumbent Barbie S. Morey, of rural Lawrenceville, is seeking re-election on the Republican side. There is no Democrat candidate.

For county clerk, Republican incumbent Will C. Gibson, Lawrenceville, is the only candidate. There is no Democrat candidate.

In the Lawrence County Board election, seats in three districts are up for election.

In District 3, board chairman Bill Gray, of Bridgeport, is unopposed on the Republican ticket. There is no Democrat on the primary ballot from District 3.

In District 4, on the Republican side, Billy L. Darnell, St. Francisville, and Harvey Ricker, also St. Francisville, a seeking a spot on the November ballot. Incumbent Pat Spidel, a Democrat, is not seeking re-election.

Incumbent Ryan M. Curtis, Lawrenceville, is seeking re-election on the Republican ballot. Wayne R. Tewell, Lawrenceville, is a candidate on the Democrat side and will oppose Curtis in the November election.

Precinct committeemen running on the Republican ballot are: Bill Gray, Bridgeport 6; Dan Pargin, Bridgeport 7; Roscoe D. Cunningham, Lawrence 13; Christopher M. Quick, Lawrence 16; Will C. Gibson, Lawrence 17; Ronald Jackman, Lukin 24; and Aaron P. Ferguson, Petty 25.

On the Democrat ballot for Precinct Committeeman are: Robert D. Angle, Bond 2; Judy Gallion, Bond 3; Gary A. Huber, Bridgeport 6; John W. Shuppert, Lawrence 14; Jerry Pacholski, Lawrence 15; Philip B. Benefiel, Lawrence 17; and Joe Weger, Russell 27.


Lawrence County voters will be helping to select candidates for one of the two U.S. Senate seats.

Incumbent Richard J. Durbin,of East St. Louis, is seeking re-election on the Democrat ticket. On the Republican side, James D. "Jim" Oberweis, from the Chicago suburb of Aurora, and Douglas Lee Truax, of Downers Grove, also a Chicago suburb, are squaring off to see who opposes Durbin in the November election.

Republican Mark Kirk, the other Illinois U.S. Senator, is not up for re-election.

Lawrence County's representative in the U.S. House of Representatives is seeking re-election.

John Shimkus, a Collinsville native who represents the 15th Congressional District, is the lone candidate on the Republican primary ballot.

On the Democrat ballot, Eric Thorsland, of rural Mahomet, is the only candidate, meaning Shimkus and Thorsland will square off in November.


There is a large field of candidates for governor, including incumbent Pat Quinn.

On the Democratic primary ballot, Quinn is getting a challenge from Tio Hardiman, former director of CeaseFire, an organization focused on combating violence in Chicago.

On the Republican ticket, Bill Brady, Dan Rutherford, Kirk W. Dillard and Bruce Rauner are all battling is out for a spot on the November ballot. Brady is a state senator, Rutherford is Illinois treasurer, Dillard is a state senator, and Rauner is a Chicago businessman.

Vying for the other state offices on the Democrat ticket are Lisa Madigan for Attorney General, Jesse White for Secretary of State, Sheila Simon for Comptroller, and Michael W. Frerichs for treasurer.

Madigan and White are incumbents while Simon is the current Lieutenant Governor and Frerichs is a state senator.

On the Republican ballot, Paul M. Schimpf is running for Attorney General, Michael Webster for Secretary of State, Judy Baar Topinka for Comptroller, and Tom Cross and Bob Grogan for treasurer.

Schimpf is a retired U.S. Marine from Waterloo, Wesbster is an attorney and certified public accountant from Hinsdale, and Topinka is the incumbent Comptroller . Cross is a member of the Illinois House of Representatives and Grogan is a certified public accountant from Westmont.

For state representative from the 109th District, David B. Reis is seeking re-election and running on the Republican ballot. In the 110th District on the Republican ballot are: Darrell Cox, Kevin L. Garner and Reginald "Reggie" Phillips.

Incumbent Brad Halbrook is not seeking re-election.

There is no candidate for the 109th or 110th districts on the Democratic primary ballot.

On the Democrat ballot are two candidates for State Central Committee, Lynn Foster and Brandon Phelps, each for the 15th Congressional District. Voters will be able to vote for both candidates.

People taking a Democrat ballot will also see that incumbent Monte A. Newlin is seeking re-election to the office of Regional Superintendent of Schools for Clay, Crawford, Jasper, Lawrence and Richland counties.

Incumbent Lawrence D. Fillingim is running for re-election for Regional Superintendent of Schools for Edwards, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Pope, Saline, Wabash, Wayne and White counties. There is no Regional Superintendent of Schools candidate for either region on the Republican primary ballot.


Voters in Sumner, St. Francisville, Bridgeport and the unincorporated areas of Lawrence County will be asked the same public question.

That question is: "Shall (name of town or county) have the authority to arrange for the supply of electricity for its residential and small commercial retail customers who have not opted out of such program? In Sumner, the questions will be addressed to Sumner residents, in St. Francisville, St. Francisville residents etc.

Voters will vote Yes or No.


 Kid Safe Search

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved