April 30, 2016

Advanced Search
Search Sponsored

History of the Daily Record
Kids' Corner
Local news
Local sports
Sports calendar
Sports links
Advertising Opportunities
Link Directory
About Us
Contact us

home : local sports : local sports

 Email this articlePrint this article 
All-Little Illini Conference Egyptian Division
Indians' Rinsch named to first team twice
LAWRENCEVILLE - Wyatt Rinsch was doubly honored when the Little Illini Conference Egyptian Division coaches met to hand out post-season awards.

A junior listed at 5-10 and 160 pounds, Rinsch was named to both the first team offensive and defensive units of the All-LIC Egyptian squad. In addition, LHS senior Trent Jones and juniors Zach Shoulders and Dalton Vories were first-team selections.

Also, Jones, senior Brandon Bilohlavek and junior Thomas Mahrenholz were named to the second team, while junior Logan Vincent was the Indians' honorable mention choice.

Rinsch was selected as both a running back and defensive back to the first team. He was the Indians' third-leading rusher this season with 568 yards and 10 rushing touchdowns on 103 carries. He also caught five passes for 122 yards and a touchdown.

Shoulders, 6-2, 180, topped the Tribe with 1,227 rushing yards this season on 192 carries. He was named to the first team as a running back. He rushed for 20 touchdowns, completed 16 of 42 passes for 363 yards and four touchdowns and caught one pass for 17 yards.

Robinson's Jason Richart was the other running back named to the first team, while Olney's Nolan Shan was chosen as the quarterback.

Joining Jones as offensive linemen were Robinson's Jay Akins and Derek Keeler, Olney's Anthony Ochs and Newton's Michael Smith. First-team receivers are Olney's Carson Waggoner and Nick Dobbs and Robinson's Joe Smith.

In the first-team defensive backfield, Rinsch is joined by Olney's Nick Dobbs and Ryan Eagleson and Robinson's Michael Elliott. Joining Vories - who played end for the Indians - on the defensive line are Olney's Quintin Pillsbury, Robinson's Wes Harrison and Newton's John Frohning.

First-team linebackers are Olney's Ian Miller, Robinson's Nic Berty and Landon Hoagland and Newton's Lucas Huston.

Olney's Chance Madden was named the first-team punter, while Derick Davidson of Marshall was tabbed as the punter.

The All-LIC Eastern Division squad will be announced once Casey's football season is complete.


Egyptian Division


First team

Linemen: Anthony Ochs, Olney; Derek Keeler, Robinson, Jay Akins, Robinson; Trent Jones, Lawrenceville; Michael Smith, Newton.

Receivers: Carson Waggoner, Olney; Nick Dobbs, Olney; Joe Smith, Robinson.

Quarterback: Nolan Shan, Olney.

Running backs: Jason Richart, Robinson; Zach Shoulders, Lawrenceville; Wyatt Rinsch, Lawrenceville.

Second team

Linemen: Doug Muhs, Olney; Ross Ginder, Olney; Wes Harrison, Robinson; Thomas Mahrenholz, Lawrenceville; Zach Tharp, Marshall.

Receivers: Landon Hoagland, Robinson; Austin Angel, Newton; Nick Scott, Marshall.

Quarterback: Bucky Stevens, Robinson.

Running backs: Gus Lathrop, Olney; Nick Berty, Robinson; Allen Taylor, Newton; Trey Thompson, Flora.


First team

Linemen: Quentin Pillsbury, Olney; Wes Harrison, Robinson; Dalton Vories, Lawrenceville; John Frohning, Newton.

Linebackers: Ian Miller, Olney; Nick Berty, Robinson; Landon Hoagland, Robinson; Lucas Huston, Newton.

Defensive backs: Nick Dobbs, Olney; Ryan Eagleson, Olney; Michael Elliott, Robinson; Wyatt Rinsch, Lawrenceville.

Second team

Linemen: Devin Reeves, Olney; Aaron Rankin, Robinson; Jon Newbold, Marshall; Trey Thompson, Flora.

Linebackers: Tony Kuhlig, Olney; Trent Jones, Lawrenceville; Brandon Bilohlavek, Lawrenceville; Zack Tharp, Marshall.

Defensive backs: Carson Waggoner, Olney; Joe Smith, Robinson; Jacob Lidy, Newton; Derick Davidson, Marshall.

Special teams

First team

Kicker: Chance Madden, Olney.

Punter: Derick Davidson,

Second team

Kick returners: Joe Smith, Robinson, Alan Stephenson, Flora.

Honorable mention

Ethan Leib, Flora; Logan Vincent, Lawrenceville; Ben Tomasino, Marshall; Tanner Shull, Newton; Danny Deimel, Olney; Connor Griffin, Robinson.


 Kid Safe Search

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved